Close

Welcome back to Stockhouse
Member Sign In

Email or Username:
Password:
Close

Become a member today, It's free!

We will not release or resell your information to third parties without your permission.

Enter your email address:
By providing my email, I consent to receiving investment related electronic messages from Stockhouse.

Temporary Lane Closures at San Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge Toll Plaza

Temporary Lane Closures at San Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge Toll Plaza

Motorists may experience periodic delays at the San Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge toll plaza over the next two months as Caltrans and the Bay Area Toll Authority (BATA) make temporary lane changes in order to install a new automated toll collection and accounting system.

Beginning Mon., July 8, and continuing through until Labor Day, up to two toll lanes will be closed at the toll plaza each night from 8 p.m. until 5 a.m. the following morning to accommodate system upgrades. This work will begin with three lanes planned to be closed next week, starting with toll lane #3 on Monday, July 8, followed by toll lane #4 on Wednesday, July 10, and toll lane #1 on Friday, July 12. Additionally, the lanes may be closed for prolonged periods during weekends to accommodate the system upgrades. Work will continue throughout the months of July and August with three lanes being converted per week, as shown in the table below, culminating with the closures of toll lanes #16, #17 and #18 in the final week of August. The schedule is subject to change and the exact lanes indicated below may not be closed on the specified days.

Contractors working for BATA, in conjunction with Caltrans staff, have been working their way around the seven state-owned toll bridges performing similar work over the past year, having completed similar installations already at the Antioch, Benicia-Martinez, Carquinez, Dumbarton, Richmond-San Rafael, and San Mateo-Hayward Bridge toll plazas. The work at the Bay Bridge will finalize all of the toll system upgrades in the region.

BATA, which is directed by the same policy board as the Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC), administers toll revenues from the region's state-owned toll bridges. MTC is the transportation planning, financing and coordinating agency for the nine-county San Francisco Bay Area. Caltrans owns, operates and maintains the state highway system, including seven Bay Area toll bridges.

 

Schedule for Temporary Lane Closures at

San Francisco-Oakland Bay Bridge Toll Plaza

       
Lane Start Construction End Construction Work Hours Frequency
3 Monday, 7/8/13 Thursday, 7/11/13 8 PM – 5 AM Nightly
4 Wednesday, 7/10/13 Saturday, 7/13/13 8 PM – 5 AM Nightly
1 Friday, 7/12/13 Monday, 7/15/13 8 PM – 5 AM Nightly
5 Monday, 7/15/13 Thursday, 7/18/13 8 PM – 5 AM Nightly
6 Wednesday, 7/17/13 Saturday, 7/20/13 8 PM – 5 AM Nightly
2 Friday, 7/19/13 Monday, 7/22/13 8 PM – 5 AM Nightly
12 Monday, 7/22/13 Thursday, 7/25/13 8 PM – 5 AM Nightly
13 Wednesday, 7/24/13 Saturday, 7/27/13 8 PM – 5 AM Nightly
7 Friday, 7/26/13 Monday, 7/29/13 8 PM – 5 AM Nightly
14 Monday, 7/29/13 Thursday, 8/1/13 8 PM – 5 AM Nightly
15 Wednesday, 7/31/13 Saturday, 8/3/13 8 PM – 5 AM Nightly
8 Friday, 8/2/13 Monday, 8/5/13 8 PM – 5 AM Nightly
16 Monday, 8/5/13 Thursday, 8/8/13 8 PM – 5 AM Nightly
10 Wednesday, 8/7/13 Saturday, 8/10/13 8 PM – 5 AM Nightly
9 Friday, 8/9/13 Monday, 8/12/13 8 PM – 5 AM Nightly
11 Monday, 8/12/13 Thursday, 8/15/13 8 PM – 5 AM Nightly
19/20 8 PM Friday, 8/16/13 5 AM Monday, 8/19/13 Continuous Day/Night
18 8 PM Friday, 8/23/13 5 AM Monday, 8/26/13 Continuous Day/Night
16/17 Wednesday, 8/28/13 Saturday, 8/31/13 Continuous Day/Night

Tags:

Rate this press release
0 stars
v
Usefulness

Clarity

Credibility
Add to favourites icon Add to favourites